Farewell Documentum

This will likely be my last regular blog post here.

For the past 17 years my career has focused on enterprise content management (ECM), and more specifically, Documentum.  I started working with Documentum in 1998, modifying and integrating the Workspace client v3.2.  Soon after that it was EDMS 98 and RightSite.  When 4i debuted around 2000, I learned how to extend the new Desktop Client using VB and the DFC.  When Documentum 5 debuted I learned Java and WDK programming to extend Webtop, and to take advantage of the BOF customization layer.  About that time I thought I had acquired enough knowledge and experience to write a book about Documentum (the first on the market!).  By the time I finished it (2005), Documentum 6 was available with yet another JMS and full text search engine, and real web services.  Documentum 7 followed that with architecture, performance, and web services improvements (REST).  Over the course of this history, I learned a myriad of new features and capabilities as they were added to the Documentum suite:  new business process/workflow engine, RM and DAM capabilities, D2, xCP, REST, CenterStage, Captiva (to name a few).  Along the way I learned three different full text search engines (Verity, FAST, xPlore) and three different embedded Java method servers (Tomcat, WebLogic, and JBoss).

Over the course of these past 17 years, I have had the privilege of working with many great clients, colleagues, and companies on some really cool and interesting projects.  I obviously had an affinity for the field of ECM and to Documentum specifically. I have blogged about it for 5-1/2 years, have written a book about it, published lots of tools and source code, and published several articles about it.  But, alas, the time has come for Documentum and I to part ways.

For the past several years the volume and quality of new Documentum work has declined, and I have been offered an  opportunity to pursue a new and different career path.  In addition, with the sale of EMC to Dell, the future of Documentum is in question.  Will it survive?  Will it be spun off?  There is a lot of speculation (UPDATE:  See BMOC blog post), which makes selling new customers on the platform much more difficult; not to mention the rise of Alfresco in the federal government has all but stymied Documentum’s growth in my primary market space.

So, that said, this will likely be my last regular blog post here.  I have a personal backlog of pet projects I would like to complete before completely severing my association with Documentum, so I may occasionally write a new post.  I will leave the blog up and running because I believe the information here will continue to be valuable to developers and users.  Thank you to all of my readers, commenters, and colleagues that have made developing and producing each of the posts for this blog enjoyable and rewarding.

Godspeed.

About Scott
I have been implementing Documentum solutions since 1997. In 2005, I published a book about developing Documentum solutions for the Documentum Desktop Client (ISBN 0595339689). In 2010, I began this blog as a record of interesting and (hopefully) helpful bits of information related to Documentum, and as a creative outlet.

19 Responses to Farewell Documentum

  1. artika4biz says:

    Hi Scott. Thank you for all your posts! During the years, I really appreciated your blog, one of the most valuable about Documentum. I wish you all the best for your carrer.

    Like

  2. DanB says:

    Thanks for sharing your experiences! Your blog (and book!) were labors of love, and I hope your new career path inspires a similar level of personal and professional satisfaction!

    Like

  3. Thank you Scott for your contribution to the Documentum community

    Like

  4. Alok says:

    Hi Scott, Thank you for sharing your experience. You have helped many silent readers like me to expand our Documentum knowledge!!. All the best!!

    Like

  5. June Brokos says:

    Good luck and God bless in your new role!

    Like

  6. Chae Kim says:

    You and your blogs will be missed… Best of luck with your new career path!

    Like

  7. Chae Kim says:

    Scott, you will be missed… but will also be welcomed in your new path.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Documentum – Top Tips for 2016 | TSG Blog

  9. Scott– Sorry to hear your departure from Documentum world. I hear the same sentiments from other Documentum technocrats … Good Luck for your new job…

    Kulveer Singh..

    Like

  10. Robin East says:

    Scott – I started in Documentum a little after you (1999 and EDMS98) and finished a little earlier but many of your experiences mirror mine. Thanks for the effort you put into your blogs – I’ve always found them interesting – and all the best in what you are moving on to

    Like

  11. Alvaro de Andres says:

    God luck in your new Job Scott!

    Like

  12. Your contribution and guidance to the Documentum community was and is remarkable. Your blog has been a great source of inspiration and knowledge sharing and that says a lot about you – so congratulations on this great journey and the best of lucks in the one that follows!

    Like

  13. Tibi Popescu says:

    Thanks for everything and good luck with your new challenges! Sorry to see you go though. I used your QuickDIE export tool a lot and I was secretely hoping for the import version one day… 🙂

    Like

  14. Samdarshi Pali says:

    Thanks for your very useful weblog. Your posts have helped me & many other users and contributed significantly. Wishing you Good luck in your new Job Scott!

    Like

  15. Amol says:

    Hi Scott- I am a silent admirer of your work.I appreciate all the efforts you took over the years in sharing your knowledge,vast experience and tricks of the trade; Documentum community will value it forever so thanks for continuing the blog. Just to fill the void; my request is to share your new experiences with us we learn a lot. Wishing you all the success in your new endeavor.

    Like

  16. Pingback: Blog Update Status | dm_misc: Miscellaneous Documentum Information

  17. fadi hasweh says:

    good luck and very good blog and thanks for sharing all those years

    Like

  18. Jesus says:

    Hello Mr. Scott ,
    Thank you very much for all your lessons left until then I ignored Documentum until this year.
    I am now using the tool documentun and need your support.
    Please contact me at my email :
    escorpio_287@hotmail.com ,

    The consultation is the DQL query tool based on Excel.
    My question eds the next.

    1. I have to install the DFC on my desktop PC to connect to remote server Content . ????
    2. Where the obba set up to connect to a remote server

    Like

Leave a Reply

