What motivates you?

What motivates you?  Why do you read this blog, or write one yourself?  Money?  Vanity?  Altruism?

I don’t usually post items that are too far afield from Documentum, Content Management, or at least software development, but I have a few times (for example, DakotaLapse and Google’s Creative Waste of Time).  I was recently sent this link to an animated video by Daniel Pink that is fun to watch, but the message is right on.  I think it speaks volumes (at least to me) about why we blog, share highly valuable and technical information, and have such a thriving open source community.  I think it finely articulates something we have all known — and lived — for some time:  motivators in our industry are different from other industries.

This video is based on Mr. Pink’s book,  Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us.  I have added it to my reading list.  It just so happens that I read his previous book, A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future, a few months ago and was equally impressed with his insights.  See what you think.

About Scott
I have been implementing Documentum solutions since 1997. In 2005, I published a book about developing Documentum solutions for the Documentum Desktop Client (ISBN 0595339689). In 2010, I began this blog as a record of interesting and (hopefully) helpful bits of information related to Documentum, and as a creative outlet.

One Response to What motivates you?

  1. Pingback: Arena RPG | dm_misc: Miscellaneous Documentum Information

Leave a Reply

