One Year Ago

This week marks the one year anniversary for this blog.  As such, I thought I would take a few minutes to recap the year, assess, brag, and plan for next year.  So, here I go:

  • 67 posts – In general, my practice has been to post once a week, or more frequently if something interesting came up during the week.
  • 85 comments – I appreciate all the questions and comments I have received this year.  You have challenged me, encouraged me, and made me feel that this corpus of information is worthwhile.
  • 5 subscribers – Cool!  I would never have imagined someone would subscribe to me.  Thanks, and keep it up.
  • 22,860 reads – I think this is a pretty reasonable number considering this is my first year and we are a fairly small community.  For the past few months I have been averaging about 100 reads a day.  Again, thank you.
  • 90 countries – In December I installed a ClustrMap to track where readers were located.  If you haven’t seen this feature, it is at the bottom of the page among the disclaimers and licensing.  I think this is sort of cool.
  • 6 continents – Got them all covered except for Antarctica.  Anyone going on expedition to the South Pole?  I’d love to score a read from down there!
  • Busiest single day –  178 reads (Jan 31, 2011).
  • 3 multi-part posts – One of my founding philosophies was that these posts would be short and insightful — and for the most part they have been short anyway.  🙂  I have, upon occasion, written some lengthier posts based upon small research projects.
  • 12 technical (i.e., contain code) posts – I hope that was enough.  I often find that code is a more concise descriptor than English.
  • 5 off topic posts – I tried not to veer too far off course and I think I only posted one completely off-topic post about Google.
  • 4 mini research topics – I like doing research and investigating problems/questions.  I managed to do that 4 times this year on IDfTime Patterns, Extended Permissions, SSL Apache, and Query Results Truncated.
  • 7 pages – Static pages that only occasionally get updated.  The DFC Errors, Server Errors, and Open Source pages seem to be very popular.

In general, I am pleased with the response you have given me either directly or by your readership.  My goal this past year was to post something every week (or so) and keep the content fresh and current.  I was able to achieve that because of the tremendous backlog of topics I had (and still have!). I will continue to try to post something weekly as time allows, and try to stick to short but meaty topics.

Thanks for your readership and keep it up.

About Scott
I have been implementing Documentum solutions since 1997. In 2005, I published a book about developing Documentum solutions for the Documentum Desktop Client (ISBN 0595339689). In 2010, I began this blog as a record of interesting and (hopefully) helpful bits of information related to Documentum, and as a creative outlet.

Leave a Reply

