Webtop Preferences Caching

A colleague recently related this experience to me.

A client was having an issue with a Webtop configuration where the configuration was visible when the user logged in from one workstation, but not from another.  Same user, same credentials; different workstation, different results.  However, if the user logged back onto the original workstation, the configuration change was visible!  The configuration in question was a change in the columns of the document list.

It turns out that preferences like column changes to the document list are cached with a client cookie rather than written to the repository or cached on the App Server .  So, when you make a change to your preferences, it only affects that client because the cookie is only saved on that client.  Only when you log out of Webtop, do the change get updated in the preferences repository (see Ch. 7 of the WDK Development Guide).

You can test this experience like this:

  • Client1: log into Webtop as user1
  • Client1: navigate to Cabinets/Resources/Registry/Preferences/Webtop in the repository and note the time stamp on the user1.preferences object
  • Client2: navigate to C:\Users\admin\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files in Windows Explorer and note the time stamp on the Webtop cookie:  Name=”webtop”, Internet Address=”Cookie:user1@<contentserver>/webtop”
  • Client2: log into Webtop as user1
  • Client2: change folder view column preferences to show object id next to object name
  • Client2: check Webtop cookie time stamp again, it should have updated to the current time and the cookie file content changed (but its not human readable)
  • Client1: refresh the Webtop screen to recheck user1.preferences time stamp.  It has not changed and the content has not change.  The object id column did NOT appear in the document list.
  • Client2: log out of Webtop
  • Client1: refresh Webtop screen to recheck user1.preferences time stamp. This time the time stamp was updated and the document list reflects the preferences change made on Client2

So, the moral of the story is logout!, don’t just close your web browser after making a configuration change or it will not be persisted to the repository.

File this under “good stuff to remember”!

Advertisements

About Scott
I have been implementing Documentum solutions since 1997. In 2005, I published a book about developing Documentum solutions for the Documentum Desktop Client (ISBN 0595339689). In 2010, I began this blog as a record of interesting and (hopefully) helpful bits of information related to Documentum, and as a creative outlet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: