Using #include in dfc.properties

I seem to have a proliferation of dfc.properties files on my workstation and servers.  There is, of course, the primary one in c:\documentum\config but there is also one in the Composer directory structure, there is one in nearly every Composer Reference Project I have installed, every Composer project I have created seems to have one, etc….  And this is just my workstation, the servers are just as bad.

I recently got a tip on how to manage all these dfc.properties files that has simplified keeping straight what is in each file–especially on the application server running Webtop, DA, TaskSpace, and RMA.  Each server (or workstation) has a primary dfc.properties files that contains the configuration, connection and tracing options for every application running on the computer (let’s call this one c:\documentum\config).  All other instances of the dfc.properties file contain one line:

#include c:\documentum\config\dfc.properties

This way, all applications that need to connect to the repositories all use the same settings.  This simplifies configuration control greatly; now changes are just made in a single location instead of each individual dfc.properties file.

About Scott
I have been implementing Documentum solutions since 1997. In 2005, I published a book about developing Documentum solutions for the Documentum Desktop Client (ISBN 0595339689). In 2010, I began this blog as a record of interesting and (hopefully) helpful bits of information related to Documentum, and as a creative outlet.

3 Responses to Using #include in dfc.properties

  1. MRR says:

    When I try to do this and try to obtain a connection I get

    [DM_DOCBROKER_E_NO_DOCBROKERS]error: “No DocBrokers are configured”

    When in my file that the #include is pointing to has all that information. Any suggestions?

    Like

    • Scott says:

      The only place I have found that this “trick” doesn’t work well is with RepoInt, otherwise I haven’t had any trouble with it. Are you using this for Webtop, Composer, what’s the enviornment? Usually, if the dfc.properties file can’t be found the DFC will complain about a lot of other things before it gets to trying to connect to the Docbroker.

      Like

  2. MRR says:

    I am creating a web app in Netbeans trying to connect to DA, but without having the properties file being built in my WAR file. I thought this trick would work but for whatever reason it is not finding the docbroker unless it is being built in that WAR file, which is what I don’t want. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

