Documentum Open Source Utilities

I have always been a big proponent of the Open Source movement.  Throughout my professional career I have contributed to the Open Source community in one way or another–but never so much as when I got involved with Documentum.  I believe the Documentum Open Source community is important and should be fostered.  I praise the ECN and the Documentum Developer Network for their efforts in this area.  But there are several people outside of the ECN that are making a big difference for the Documentum Open Source community also.  Following are links to some of the Documentum Open Source tools and utilities I have used recently.

  • RepoInt – RepoInt is an Eclipse/Composer plugin that combines the best of browsing, DQL, API and more into one easy to use tool.  It also comes in a standalone version not requiring Eclipse/Composer.
  • DOCS – Documentum Command Shell is a command line client for Documentum that allows you to navigate the repository using short commands.  Features include navigation, DQL, API and library functions.  Requires .Net Framework and the DFC PIA.
  • dqMan – a DQL and API editor all in one.
  • Delilah – an alternative to the old Documentum WorkSpace client.  I use it for its ability to quickly and easily save DQL and API results to Excel.
  • Samson – Samson is an unsupported DQL and API editor that comes with Documentum Content Server.  You can find it on your Content Server at D:\Documentum\product\6.5\unsupported\win\samson.
  • Tadsbits – a simple migration tool that uses Dump/Load.
  • TSG – TSG offers several Open Source tools, including:  OpenMigrate, OpenAnnoate, OpenContent, and Active Wizard.
  • Db::Documentum – Db::Documentum is a Perl module which integrates the Documentum API with the Perl language.  It is a bit dated now and only works up through Documentum 5.3 SP6 due to its reliance on the DMCL and C++ libraries.
  • JCG – Java Code Generator for Documentum is a command line tool that can be used to generate Java Beans from Documentum Object types.
  • dctmutils – a collection of utility classes for working with Documentum sessions, objects, DQL, DFC, Automatic Workflow Activities and Ant tasks.
  • Explorer Extension – DFS-based extension lets you explore a Documentum repository from Windows Explorer, sort of like Desktop Client.
  • DFS Tester – Test DFS-based web services including login and file downloads.
  • New DQL Editor – a really nice, all Java DQL editor that supports cut/paste, auto completion and more.
  • DFS Tester – a nice way to test your DFS installation.

I am always on the look out for useful Documentum tools and utilities.  If you have one or know of one, let me know and I will add it to the list.

Thanks for all the suggestions of additional Open Source Documentum tools and utilities.  Here are some reader-submitted suggestions:

  • SivDM – (download link in right-hand pane) SivDM is a Swiss army knife of useful features including DQL, API, scripting, reverse engineering and some XML.
  • Doofer – Do DFC scripting from Groovy with this simple class library.
  • Infinite Blend – offers several useful open source apps for developers and administrators.
About Scott
I have been implementing Documentum solutions since 1997. In 2005, I published a book about developing Documentum solutions for the Documentum Desktop Client (ISBN 0595339689). In 2010, I began this blog as a record of interesting and (hopefully) helpful bits of information related to Documentum, and as a creative outlet.

18 Responses to Documentum Open Source Utilities

  1. Paddy Brown says:

    One I find great is Doofer (http://code.google.com/p/doofer/), a library of utilies to help scripting Documentum using Groovy.

    Like

    • msroth says:

      Paddy,

      Thanks for the suggestion. I haven’t had the opportunity to use Groovy so Doofer wasn’t on my radar. I’ll add it to the list and hope to have an opportunity to use it in the future.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Timing Queries « dm_misc: Miscellaneous Documentum Tidbits and Information

  3. Robin East says:

    Scott, you might be aware that Xense Profiler for DFC, the Documentum performance profiling tool, is now open source and free via the DFCprof project on sourceforge: http://dfcprof.sourceforge.net/

    Robin

    Like

  4. Yonder says:

    Another great tool you could try is Qit. It’s a free eclipse based DQL, DAPI and repository browser. One you can can extend on your own.
    One of the best and more recent tools found on the internet.

    Like

  5. joseph says:

    is there any other tool in documentum which we can customize our own sites..

    Like

  6. Justin Rypstra says:

    Another complete Documentum toolset with DQL / API / Job management, multiple repository application is QIT by Qtree. Its written in Java and comes with a 32 and 64 bit package.

    Only issues with app are the memory and heap space issues that come with Java especially around the 32 bit version.

    http://www.qtree.be/ecm.html#qit

    Hope this helps you guys.
    Justin R

    Like

  7. Matthew Hengst says:

    Have you found anything that works with Documentum 7? I haven’t managed to get Repoint, dqMan, QIT, or any others to run.

    Like

    • Scott says:

      No I haven’t. I thought I had Qit working at one point but that doesn’t seem to be the case. I’ll look into and see what I can figure out.

      Like

      • dqMan wasn’t working and I did some back and forth with their support folks. They sent me a version 6 build 0.1.2 (latest on their site was 5 build 0.0.7) and we narrowed it down to failing due to the dmcl.dll version. It looks like the dmcl.dll file from D7 is half the size of an older version that does work. So that might fix the issues I’ve seen elsewhere as well

        Like

      • Scott says:

        I have QIT v3.1.0 (Windows) working on my Documentum 7.0 repository. The default java installation is 1.7 64-bit. At the conclusion of the QIT install, after copying the DFC, it said it was configured for DFC 6.7. Upon checking, it did copy Dfc.jar 6.7 SP2 from somewhere on my hard drive to the QIT /plugins folder. When I checked, I discovered that I have Dfc.jar files all over the place ranging in versions from 6.7 – 7.0 (This is a DEV environment that has been upgraded several times and has many DCTM products installed that have not necessarily been upgraded.) I think the key may be to use DFC 6.7 SP2. If you can’t install it using DFC 6.7 SP2, you can probably copy it to the /plugins folder after the fact.

        Like

      • Scott says:

        I just installed QIT on another workstation that wasn’t as “cluttered” as the previous one. The Java version is still 1.7 64-bit. The installed DFC was 7.1. QIT did NOT work. I then reinstalled QIT using DFC 6.7 SP2 and it works fine. It seems the key is (like with many other DCTM tools and utilities) to use DFC 6.7 SP2.

        Like

  8. Patrick Ruff says:

    Hey Scott. I saw you have Db-Documentum mentioned on this tool page.

    Can you let us know if Db-Documentum-1.64 works with a docbase 7.2 or higher? I also wanted to ask if there are any binaries of it available anywhere.
    Regards,
    Patrick Ruff

    Like

    • Scott says:

      Patrick, I haven’t tried it, but I seriously doubt it. The last version of Db:Documentum was written using the DMCL that was part of DCTM 5.3. I think I got away with it working on DCTM 6 because the DMCL was still around internally but not externally accessible. But I think with DCTM 7 it is gone completely. Give it a try and let me know.

      Like

Leave a Reply

