Updating Java on the Documentum Platform

I have always been reluctant to upgrade the version of Java that was shipped with the Content Server and the Java Method Server for fear of breaking something in the platform stack. In April of last year, my fears were justified when EMC Documentum advised NOT to upgrade to Java 1.6.0_24 until they had had a chance to certify the platform on the update (see my previous post about this announcement and EDN notice) .

This past month, my Content Servers showed up as vulnerable on a routine security scan by my IT department because of the antiquated version of Java they were running. After doing some research, I discovered the EMC Documentum procedure for upgrading Content Server 6.5, 6.6, and 6.7 to Java 1.6.0_24, as promised in their original advisory. Though this update isn’t the latest version of Java (Who can keep up?), it does squash some of the bugs my security folks were concerned about.

The information you need to do the Java upgrade can be found in the Content Server 6.6/6.7/6.7 SP1 download site. The files are named jdk6upgrade_windows.zip, and JdkUpgradeReadme.txt.

Here is an EMC Solution Note with a cumulative list of known issues and workarounds for Java 1.6.0_x.

Updating the Java running your WDK server and/or client workstations seems to be a different matter. As feared, Java 1.6.0_24 did in fact, break the WDK . If you are updating Java on your WDK server, or users’ desktops, make sure you update to 1.6.0_27 (or later).

As of this writing, the current version of Java is 1.6.0_31. I have not seen any EMC Documentum notices indicating that there are problems with any version of Java after 1.6.0_27. Does this mean we can update to the latest version? If so, why is there no scripted update?

About Scott
I have been implementing Documentum solutions since 1997. In 2005, I published a book about developing Documentum solutions for the Documentum Desktop Client (ISBN 0595339689). In 2010, I began this blog as a record of interesting and (hopefully) helpful bits of information related to Documentum, and as a creative outlet.

One Response to Updating Java on the Documentum Platform

  1. Good point. I’m on Linux and if they would just use the system Java and the system package manager this would not ever be an issue. They drive me crazy with their proprietary and obsolete software packaging and deployment practices. We filed a SR on this Java issue and according to EMC we were told there are no issues with 1.6.0_31 on the application server. I have not upgraded the content server java in production yet since I’m being told by IT security that the version provided to upgrade to also has numerous security vulnerabilities. They want me to upgrade to the newest release but I’m afraid to go beyond what EMC has certified for the content server.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

